Playing with the Rainbow Loom

Flower-Bracelets

I am intrigued by the Rainbow Loom, so I have been playing around a bit. I am trying to think of some adult type things to make, but have been making bracelets since they are small. The elastic nature and decorative possibilities are endless. Anyway, I have been having fun.

In knitting there are purl stitches. With rubber band fishtail looping they are a bit trickier to accomplish. There is a band between the stitch being worked and the new band being added. I found a way around it. My son thinks the stitch is too difficult for most kids. He told me the kids see the more elaborated designs and get discouraged when they can’t do it. They often don’t want to put in the time it takes to improve their skills. He thinks that is the main reason the fad for the bracelets is ending. That, and adults like me are now playing around a bit. Here are a few things I have come up with.

A rose bud bracelet made with a 5 pin fishtail flowers and looped in the triangle bracelet pattern.

Rose-Bud-Bracelet

A cherry blossom bracelet made with a 5 pin fishtail flowers, including purl stitch loops, and looped in the triangle bracelet pattern.

Cherry-Blossom-Bracelet

A forget-me-not bracelet made like the bracelet above. This is the one I thought of first, since the flower is perfect for friendship bracelets. I wanted to use a lighter blue, but it is too close in tone to all the greens I have and wouldn’t have stood out. I compromised by using a darker blue, and very light green. I think it works OK.

Forget-Me-Not-Bracelet

This is a daisy chain design. The band is a simple chain, the flowers are formed over 6 pins.

Daisy-Chain-Bracelet

Since every design looks great using clear and rainbow jelly bands, the flowers became stars.

Jelly-Rainbow-Stars-Bracelet

And finally a gun drop bracelet. This is a happy accident. My son thought the bead like texture reminded him of gum drops.

Gum-Drop-Bracelet

I have two Bruges doilies in progress. They are going to require a great deal of thought to finish. These bracelets have been a nice diversion. I think the craft could be used in some decorative home accessory way. I have lots and lots of rubber bands when I think of something.

12 Responses

  1. Loved all the bracelets – specially the rose bud one.

  2. These look like such fun – and I agree with your son that the one bracelet looks like gumdrops! You’ve done a beautiful job with these. Great job!

  3. my daughter was ecstatic to see your designs…do you happen to have a tutorial video on this?

  4. Can you make tutorials of these they are so cute πŸ™‚

  5. Hi πŸ™‚ , I’m a 32 yr old mom and I really love all the flower designs especially the open flower cherry and daisy. I would love to learn how you made your flowers they look extremely realistic I Love it!!! I would make a batch for my daughters and myself πŸ˜€ .

  6. I would love to see video tutorials for the rose bud and cherry blossom bracelets.

  7. Love the bracelets :)! I too would love to see the tutorials!

  8. Here is a link to the videos.

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeiTlcA1WI1uvKjM7rRm1ow

  9. Your designs are amazing!!!! Thanks!!

  10. you are truly a very creative artist! πŸ™‚
    I love your designs so much!! I really want to try them, but found it really hard though. (because the videos are not very focused) I think I need more time to practice !!! πŸ˜€ Thanks for the videos anyway, I am sure that one day I can make one flower bracelet for myself! πŸ˜€

  11. I can’t wait for playing and try to practice by your video..
    i love your all “flower full” bracelets..

  12. Your designs are so creative and unique. I just got into this and love that adults are fine tuning this craft. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next! Thank you for the tutorials🌸🌹🌺🐝

Leave a Reply

