A New Project

I decided to join our local chapter of the American Sewing Guild. Tonight is the second meeting working on what we are calling a French jacket using Chanel couture sewing techniques. That is where the lining is quilted to the face fabric to give the jacket body without weight. It should feel as comfortable as wearing a sweater. On Saturday a group of ladies from our neighborhood chapter  went shopping in LosAngeles. We met at 8:30AM and headed downtown to Michael Levine’s. It was important to go early, which I found out when I went to leave. It was so busy, the parking and traffic were crazy. Next we went to Mood at their new location on LaBrea, then on to International Silks and Woolens.

I bought this fabric at Mood for the jacket.

Multi-Color-Fabric

I am planning on combining a couple of patterns to get a modified swing style jacket.  I don’t want a short boxy one.   This jacket project is one that we will be working on all year.

It was so much fun shopping with everyone.  I loved all the stores and spent way more than I had planned.  I love this fabric, and the lining fabric too.

 

4 Responses

  1. Awesome! I can’t wait to see the finished product! 🙂
    ~Jen

  2. SO glad you joined and went on the shopping trip! I love the fabric you selected as well. I hope you’ll be sharing your progress.

  3. You make me want to take up sewing again–after i sort out the sewing room.
    Looking forward to your finished project (and work in progress pictures).

  4. So far behind in what everyone is doing – you have chosen a stunning piece of fabric to work with. Total admiration for you and your ability to sew clothing – looking forward to following your progress.

Leave a Reply

