Where are the roses?

It was so exciting to see these fire-cracker roses on the two bushes I planted a couple of years ago. I had never been able to get them to bloom. Now I know why. The day after I took these photos the booms were gone, and so were all the buds. My best guess is that a squirrel finds them tasty. How he manages to get around the thorns, I do no know. I put some black pepper on the leaves hoping that any new buds might be protected. We will have to see how that goes.

Firecracker-Rose1

Firecracker-Rose2

I have been feeling a little under the weather for a while now, catching every cold that happens to pass my way. I have a doctor’s appointment soon. Hopefully I will get my energy back, so that I will able to share something creative on this blog again.

Rick is still painting in his limited spare time. He just put up these two paintings this weekend. He had to get out the ladder to hang them up on the high wall in the living room. I put the corner of the banister in the photo to give you all some idea of scale. I wish there wasn’t an air vent in the middle of this wall. I guess we could get a contractor to try and remove it, but it seems like it might be expensive to do.

If you click on the photo and go to the original size in flickr, you will be able to see the detail of the face better. I think Rick has a unique style of painting and sense of color. You can also see more of the leaves blowing in the wind in the other painting. Sorry that part of the photo is a little blurry and you cannot see the detail on the girl’s dress.

Rick's-Work

4 Responses

  1. Oh those naughty squirrels…but they certainly have good taste! What an exquisite rose blossom! Hope that black pepper does the trick…

    The paintings draw the viewer in…and I always prefer those warm colors. Everyone will want to know what the lady is seeing?? Such expressive eyes…

    Take care of yourself and if you find some extra energy – send it over…wondering if this is a seasonal thing and we will all start to come around soon??

  2. Beautiful (and tasty!) roses. This past weekend, my SILs in upstate NYS were complaining about the squirrels eating the tulips.

    Gorgeous paintings. What a talent!

  3. Those roses are spectacular! I really hope you find a way to keep the squirrels away! I used crushed red pepper flakes to keep critters away from my plants.

    Rick is amazingly talented! I love both those 2 paintings!

  4. I’ve never heard of pepper on roses. I hope it works!

    I love Rick’s painting. He is really very talented. I’ve always wished I had a talent for art. It’s just not there.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

