How to Shrink a Ruler

It seemed such a waste to throw out the ruler that bent from the summer heat in my car. I thought I would put it in a warm oven on a piece of baking parchment to straighten it out. It straighten out all right, just a half inch too short. I thought I would keep it as a 2 inch gauge, then Rick, in his wisdom, said I should mark it so I don’t pick it up by mistake. I put it in the recycle barrel. I do not need to court disaster.

Shrunken-Ruler

My garden is pretty much a mess. I cut the basil down since I thought it was done for the year. It re-grew, and I still have a few tomatoes ripening too. They are spaced here and there on the vines, so it looks really messy, the tangly long vines with just a few leaves and tomatoes.

Late-Basil

Late-Tomato

I think this is one of the biggest clusters of berries on a heavenly bamboo plant next to the house we have ever had. Cedar Waxwings love these berries and will strip all our bushes at the back of the yard in one or two visits. It will be interesting to see if these berries will draw them close to the house this year.

Heavenly-Berries

4 Responses

  1. I’m off to a farmers’ market today and hope to find some late tomatoes and basil. I’m not ready to say good-bye to that yummy bit of summer!

  2. I’m off to the basement cold room to shop for ripe tomatoes among the 4 boxes of green tomatoes. Yesterday it looked kind of red in there–I hope there is just enough for fresh eating and a salad or two–I’m not in the mood for blanching and canning/freezing.

  3. Glad I found you again!
    I am thinking of knitting myself a short cardigan. I have not knitted anything for at least 5 years, but I used to knit constantly. Then one day I decided I had had enough.
    However, the other day I saw a picture in a catalogue of a short, cabled cashmere cardigan.
    It was hideously expensive!
    Have you even knit anything from cashmere? I don’t even know where to look for yarn.

  4. You still have basil…so envious! What I have left is now tucked in the freezer in little bags. Still, if a person needed a hint of summer on a cold winter day…just open that little baggie up. Couldn’t help but notice the previous comment from someone who is considering knitting with cashmere. What a heavenly project that would be. I don’t know if we could even get skeins around here. They would have to be very pricey?? Just the thought of that fiber working its way on the needles gives me goosebumps!
    Speaking of heavenly – your berries on the bamboo are sure impressive.

Leave a Reply

