“A Separate Sphere”

Here is another book I really enjoyed reading. It has marvelous photos of dresses from the turn of the last century, 1877-1922, which could be used as inspiration for machine embroidery today. The book is a catalog of a museum exhibit held at the Cincinnati Art Museum in 2003 (I think). I didn’t go to the exhibit, but found the book in a search on Amazon after watching “The House of Elliot” on DVD. I am a little late to most parties. I grew up in Cincinnati, so many of the places, stores, families, and streets, I am familiar with. The book parallels the stories of the decline of dressmaking shops and the emerging department stores with the changes brought about by the women’s suffrage movement. All the department stores I remember loving are now gone. I think we are now going through another major social change that parallels the decline of the department store. I can only guess what that is.

A-Separate-Sphere

2 Responses

  1. I love opening your blog every morning. Such interesting snippets of information on topics that have high interest for me. An books I wish I owned. How are the roses? Are you still knitting?

  2. I so agree with you…the department stores of long ago were like a wonderland to me. Growing up in the D.C. area gave us Garfinckels, Woodward & Lothrop (best known as “Woodies”) & smaller places like Jelleffs & Hecht’s. I can still recall the fragrance when entering…good leather from purses, lovely perfumes and something else so elusive – the care and quality that went into everything that was made “back then.” Thank you so much for bringing back a very special set of memories…those years will never be seen again.
    What an excellent idea about present day machine work from older dressmaking books.

Leave a Reply

