Serger

It has been a slow crafting day. All I have been up to is overlocking fabric for pre-washing. It keeps the fabric from fraying and getting tangly. Joann’s had lots of cotton corduroy for $2.99 a yard so I bought two 4 yard pieces. Not sure what I am making yet, but at those prices I am sure it will come in handy for something. I also had to wash out the starch from the ticking and pre-wash the poplin and flannel for the sewing accessories. The washing machine has been going all day.

I have not photographed my Elna Lock Pro5DC serger for a blog post. Since I am trying to post everyday for at least a year I thought why not. This is day 285 in a row.

This old machine has two things that are different from newer models. One is the bar that takes the wide toe away for a rolled hem. It just flips up, no need to change plates. This machine was made before anyone thought to add a cover-stitch to a home machine. The bar would get in the way when doing a cover-stitch hem. If I get another serger I would want one with cover-stitch. The second thing is the plastic scrap catcher. It fills fast since it is rather small, but it is easy to dump and reattach.

Elna-Lock-2-

Elna-Lock-1-

3 Responses

  1. I have always wanted a serger. Lucky you! 🙂

  2. That serger looks so complicated to me…threading it alone would be so intimidating! And how do you manage a blog entry everyday??? So impressed! I think off and on all week about just One post! Wanted to thank you for the feedback on your camera equipment too. That might be my next “upgrade” :o)

  3. Wow! I had never considered using a serger as part of the preparation of fabric. (Not like I have one – I’m just saying!)

Leave a Reply

