Sewing Class

My first day teaching sewing at our local Joann’s went fine. I had two students. Both were continuing students from the previous teacher. First I helped a 10 year old sew the sides to her pj bottoms. She had never seen steam come out of an iron before, so I showed her it can also spray water. She was thrilled. When she brings in the elastic we can finish up the pjs next week and move on to a purse. Purses are a specialty of mine, so it should be fun. My next student is sewing red stitches over the stitches of a pre-quilted pieced of fabric. She is carefully following the already sewn quilt lines, even over the jags and mistakes. She has some learning difficulties, but loves sewing class.

Sewing-Classroom

During the first student free (unpaid) hour of my shift, I played around organizing the Bali-Pop fabrics for the clothesline bag. It was nice to have a table I didn’t have to clean up first. I kept taking photos and it helped me see the fabrics that stood out and needed to be moved. I want the fabrics to blend a little and form stripes. I think the bag will be more interesting that way. The three lightest ones on the right side I couldn’t find a place for. I have several batiks in my stash that will work for the handles and binding. It was rather nice to be in a shop away from home for a change.

Bali-Pop-Arrangement

2 Responses

  1. It sounds like you had a good day! I”m looking forward to seeing your finished bag.

  2. Those fabrics are amazing!!

Leave a Reply

