The Vendors

There were about 250 vendors at the Quilt Festival. I saw so many lovely fabrics, patterns, notions, yarns, ribbons, beads and $10,000 sewing machines. Those I will write about tomorrow. I set a hundred dollar limit on myself and it was easy to stick to since I was trying to figure out a way to afford one of those sewing machines. I stayed within budget even with our exorbitant LA County sales tax. A few clover sewing notions, one bag pattern, and batik fabric strips to make it with were enough to satisfy my shopping appetite.

Quilting-Supplies

For the knitters there were yarns. Novelty yarns are also used in quilting for decorative embellishment. So one could buy whole skeins or even just a few yards of some of the more expensive yarns. I really thought hard about buying a box of the novelty yarns badly photographed below. I thought it would be fun to knit something with lots of little bits of coordinated yarns. Each box was over a hundred dollars so I passed on it. I felt a little funny photographing in the vendors booths. Maybe by next year I wont be so self conscious. The prettier sweaters are around the corner where I thought I would be too obvious.

Yarn-in-Boxes

I have seen the recycled silk fabric yarns in catalogs. I didn’t realize how soft the yarn would be. Just like a worn cotton shirt is softer than a new one, worn silk has the same comfy softness. Those skeins were tempting too.

Recycled-Yarn

5 Responses

  1. My LQS offers a class on the bag pattern you purchased. It’s really cute!

  2. How fun! I’m sure you had a ball shopping!

  3. Such buying restraint!

  4. What a beautiful setting for your West Coast Quilt Festival…don’t these events put your creative mind on overload! So much inspiration…
    Sounds like you had a great time.
    Pat

  5. Congratulations on sticking to your budget. Impressive! I understand what you mean about being self conscious about taking pictures. I often find that vendors and shops are happy to give you permission to take photos – and often they would like to see them online. =)

    That box of novelty yarn would make a lovely wrap!

Leave a Reply

