Pesto Tonight

I had to harvest the basil this morning, so pesto tonight. I make it with walnuts and pumpkin seeds for extra Omega3s instead of pine nuts. I also like to use Unie Kaas cheese instead of parmesan. It is a hard gouda cheese that was recommended by the guy at the Whole Foods’ cheese counter a few years ago and I just started buying it instead of parmesan. Otherwise I just make it the regular way with 5 cups of basil leaves. Basil will get woody if not cut down regularly. When I make pesto I also make a sandwich spread out of white beans since it includes pesto. That way I only have to clean the food processor after making both recipes. To a quarter cup or less of the pesto I add a clove of garlic, another bit of grated cheese, 2 cans of white beans, juice of half a lime, 2tsp. of ground cumin, a tablespoon of granulated garlic, a tsp of salt and a little olive oil. Then blend and that is all that there is to it. It doesn’t turn dark like pesto and stays a lovely light green color. It is a tasty spread for pita bread. My son just loves it.

Basil-Over-Tomatoes

4 Responses

  1. That all sounds SO good. I love the cheese counter at Whole Foods….it can truly break my bank!

  2. Harvesting basil–I love the sound (and taste) of that!

  3. I just put my basil out this past weekend. I do the same thing you do with tomatoes on the bottom and basil on top. I do sweet, thai, lemon, purple and small leaf basil.. I will definitely try your spread idea in a few weeks it sounds yummy! ( pesto has been my daughter’s fav sauce on pasta since she was 2 1/2 and most kids won’t try it- weirdo)

  4. Sounds very yummy! Especially the white bean spread. It sounds like it would be good with a multigrain cracker or chip too!

Leave a Reply

