Square Collar

The lace on this collar is so pretty. I wish who ever made the collar utilized it in a nicer style. It looks very much like a lace bib when worn. The neck opening is large, about 19″, so it may have been a collar for an older woman. I do like the way it is made. The side edges are the border of the lace mitered to go up each side. I may try that on a border print, so the print goes up, say, the side seams of a blouse or sleeve. It would work on a curtain too. One reason I am sharing these pieces is for inspiration. There is at least one idea in each piece that can be adapted to a new project.

Just a note: The collar could have been worn with the opening in the front. The placement of the shoulder seam suggests that. I just would think the nicer corners would be in the front. I wonder if things I make now will be as confusing to others in the future as these bits of lace from the past are to me now.

Square-Collar

This close up shows how the lace edging was embroidered onto the net. I wish I had a couple yards of this lace to make a something frilly with.

Square-Collar-CloseUp

By mitering the corners the outside edge of the collar stays in pattern.

Square-Collar-Corner

2 Responses

  1. Very pretty…I had not thought about how it would be work but it makes sense that the opening would be in the front!

  2. WOW!!! Exquisite lace! 🙂

Leave a Reply

