Big Book of Knitting

I love older needlework books and I have lots and lots to share on this blog. Today I feature “The Big Book of Knitting” edited by Isabelle Stevenson. In its 282 pages it has a pattern for almost everything a knitter would want to knit. There are pattens for socks to sweaters; afghans to doilies; mittens to slippers; covering both house and family from top to toe.

Big-Book-of-Knitting

I originally bought the book at a used book store for these bibs. I just thought they were cute.

BBoK-Bibs

I love this sweater. It is done with ribbon yarn and silver thread in a slip stitch pattern. I also like the popcorn trim around the edges.

BBoK-Ribbon-Sweater

This doily is pretty and looks easy to do. The phone in the photo makes me smile; it doesn’t even have a dial. So many things have changed since the 40’s, but not knitting.

BBoK-Doily

One Response

  1. Some things never go out of style!

Leave a Reply

