No Pattern Sewing

I got all the patterns I wanted at the sale. Putting them away and looking through my other patterns, I found this little book I bought as a teenager. I love it, 50 designer fashions to make for 25 cents. That is only a 1/2 cent a fashion. It is one of those little 3″x5″ paperbacks that were commonly sold at the grocery store checkouts. The designs are really basic. I have seen several books published lately that have similar information for much more money.

No-Pattern-Sewing

I showed the booklet to my son and he commented on the illustrations. That may have been why I bought the book. I drew lots of girls in this style in high school. I use to copy fashion illustrations for fun. The cloche hat and shawl are in fashion now. 1925, 1965, 2005, seems they are back in style about every forty years.

NPS-Skirts

Looking through the pattern catalogs today I saw several patterns similar to the dress on the right below. Every design featured in this little booklet had a maxi and mini version. The book was published in 1972. In 1972 maxi’s were so last year. I remember the year well. I started high school and girls could finally wear pants to school. That pretty much did away with the mini too.

NPS-Dresses

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

