Photography

Yesterday and today I have been working on getting the hairpin square scarf/stole finished. I like wide scarfs to wear as stoles better than shawls. Just enough to keep my shoulders warm and not too much to get in the way. Finally I am down to the last of 5 skeins, so hopefully it can be blocked by the end of the week. I went to try and get a good picture of the last skein of yarn. I took photos of the last 2 skeins together, but the color was all wrong. So I thought I would play with the camera setting on the last skein. I put it on manual color and increased the saturation, sharpness, and contrast. I thought it looked better in viewer on back of the camera. I have a little Canon PowerShot SX110 IS. I would like a dSLR someday, but when I went looking into purchasing one I realized how much I didn’t know. I need to be more comfortable with settings on this little camera before investing in one that has all the bells and whistles. Well anyway, what I learned was that no matter how bad the photo looks in auto setting, Photoshop elements does a really good job of correcting the color. I just click on Auto Levels under Enhance. Here are my experiment photos.

First photo just taken with the auto setting and incandescent light. See how red it is.
Yarn-Color-Auto-1

Corrected in PhotoShop Elemants, much better, but looks lighter than in reality.
Yarn-Color-Auto-2

Taken with manual color settings, better, but too dark and missing the yellow greens.
Yarn-Color-Manual-1

Corrected in PhotoShop Elements and closer to the real color. There are bits of the yellow green though not much.
Yarn-Color-Manual-2

Even though the second photo above, the PhotoShop Elements corrected auto setting photo, is too light because there is so much light reflecting off the mohair fibers, I think it is the best looking one. I still have to play with the camera settings to bring out the blues and yellows more.   Also I might need a better light source, though the bulbs say they are the true color kind.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

