Enjoying the Journey

My husband gave me one of those desk calendars with a saying for each day. The quote yesterday was from author Kristine Carlson. I think it fits this blog, so even though no part may be reprinted without the publisher’s consent, here goes:

“Part of the adventure in life is not always knowing what’s going to happen next, and the next part may be grander than your original plan. The key to enjoying the journey is being open to the unknown.”

Part of the creative adventure is not really knowing how something I am making is going to turn out. Though not knowing how my project is going to look is not as scary as not knowing what what my future will be, the uncertainty often holds me back from trying. I need to be more open to the unknown, maybe do more of my own designing instead of relying so much on patterns.  Something to keep in mind anyway, especially during those periods of uncertainty driven inertia.  I think that is why Rick gave me the calendar.  I  tend to worry about what could go wrong, which just doesn’t make the journey enjoyable.

Spike-the-Dahlia

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

