Drawn Thread Lace 3

Again I have had a hectic day and will write about another of the 4 antique drawn thread squares I inherited from my grandmother. I think this is the most interesting one. It looks like most of the threads were removed leaving relatively few to anchor the design. The design is mostly worked in needlelace. I can see the needle weaving, but I am not sure of the technique used to go around in the circles. I love the look of the overall design of this piece.   I wonder if the stitcher followed a pattern or made up the design herself.  Someday I hope to learn to make drawn thread lace.  I will most likely follow a much simpler pattern.

Antique-Drawn-Thread-Lace-1

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

