Coffee or Tea?

I just finished coffee tinting the silk for the “Inspirations’ Sweet Bag”. The color is more golden than I thought it would be. I have tinted using tea before. The coffee tint is definitely a brighter color. Tea gives a more blue cast, or a raw umber tone. That said, I am happy with the color. I used 4 cups of hot water and 4 teaspoons of instant coffee with 2 teaspoons of salt. Those were the directions given. They said to use a container that the fabric could lay flat in, so I used a jelly roll pan lined with press-n-seal. That worked really well. I was worried that the salt might react with the aluminum in the pan. So now I have my golden brown silk and can transfer the pattern and start stitching. And I think I am going to switch from tea to coffee for any future tinting needs.

Coffee-Tinted-Silk
One Response

  1. That came out beautifully!

Leave a Reply

