Antique Buttons

I have a small collection of really old buttons. The ones pictured are some of my favorites. I don’t know if I will ever sew them to anything. I can imagine them on various dresses from the 1800’s. I don’t think any are older than that, but I do not know for sure. The Conquistador button in the front is my favorite.  There is so much detail in the carving. I asked on the historical knitting forum over at Ravelry about the clothing depicted. Dawn() was so nice to tell me this, “There was a period during the 19th century when Elizabethan Revival was very popular, and your button may date from that time.”   I keep these buttons and pieces of antique lace in a cedar chest. Writing this blog is giving me a wonderful excuse to look though everything to find things to share.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

